Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Friends play an important role in a person’s life. They always accompany with us, whenever and wherever you are in. Some people think it is important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. However, from my perspective, I disagree with the statement.

Admittedly, keeping old friends is of importance sometimes, especially when you are in a extreme dilemma. To be more concrete, old friends have a good grasp of our characteristics and styles of living because you have known each other for a long time. They know what you most need. And there is a profound and deep friendship between you. So they probably tend to be more willing to help you when you involve some harsh situations such as shortage of money. When you want to borrow money from others. The first people you can recall is definitely your old friend. However, if you express your need to your new friends, they may not help you since they do not know whether you are reliable. So, keeping old friends is important sometimes.

However, making new friends is more significant than keeping old friends sometimes. To be more specific, new friends are who you have not known before. What are their characteristics, what they like, what they are good at. You contact each other the first time. So it is interesting to get along with new friends because there will be a new experience between you, which is keeping old friends does not have. For example, when I entered into college, I did not know others in my dormitory room. But I found it was amazing to know them, we interacted each other, share some things new for both. Such as dialect. There is a roommate of mine who come from Sichuan Province, he told me a lot about his dialect I never heard before, which is different from my language. You can imagine how I was exciting then.

Furthermore, making new friends is more of crucial than keeping old friends sometimes because they can help you to fit right in to new environment. You are both in new environment, many issues require cooperation and deliberation among you. Some ideas you cannot imagine will be came up with by your new friends. They can also utilize some skills that can help you deal with some problems such as bulb-repairing in the dormitory. So, making new friends benefit you more and thus is important than keeping old friends sometimes.

In conclusion, keeping old friends help is crucial when you are in a extreme dilemma, but making new friends is more significant when you are in a new environment.