Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

In our modern bustling society, an increasing number of people start to realize the importance of making more friends. However, it has been said that keeping old friends is more essential for people than making new friends. However, I am inclined to disagree with that.

Admittedly, maintaining old friends, especially those who always stay there to wait to help you out, is significant. Since they care for you sincerely and are always willing to make you better. More concretely, if you have conflicts with your families, your old friends would be more willing to listen to your complaint and help you figure out the most practical solutions; if you fail to pass an exam, your old friends would try their best to help you find out the mistakes and make up the deficiencies; and if you get to a new environment and feel homesick, your old friends would spend time having video calls with you as long as they could. From this perspective, keeping old friends is relatively crucial because whenever you have difficulties, old friends are there to assist you.

However, sometimes having new friends could be more important. Since you could be more open-minded and expand your horizons. It is not hard to believe that if you never go outside, meet new people, or make new friends, you would eventually become more and more parochial, which prevents you from developing further. However, if you are willing to interact with new various individuals and even make friends with them, you would continue absorbing new blood to make yourself better and more versatile. For example, when I first got into high school, I immediately made several friends. Some of them could play instruments adeptly; some of them could master a specific sport, like basketball or football; and some of them could control a new language very well. Because of them, I knew much more interesting thing than before and started to explore those wonderful practice, which the old friends could not give me. From this perspective, making new fiends is very important since you could find out and learn many new interesting things in the world from them.

In addition, making new friends is more beneficial than keeping old friends in some degree. Since you could improve communicate skills, which is very valuable for future career development. During the process of working with new friends, you could gradually know how to effectively talk with strangers and get their trust as quickly as possible, which definitely helps you get decent positions in workplace in the future. Take myself as an example. I usually make many friends when I first get into a new atmosphere and this really makes me an excellent communicator. Due to this outstanding character, I easily get my first part-time job, a librarian, since I could always catch other’s main ideas and help them find the books they need through effective conversations. From this experience, I know it is significant for you to make new friends since it makes you a good communicator, who is highly demanded by modern workplace.

To sum up, although keeping old friends is relatively important since they are always willing to wait there to help you, sometimes making new fiends is more significant since you can be more open-minded and improve your communication skills.