Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Humans being a social living being requires social interaction with their friends regularly.In my personol opinion I believe that being in touch with old friends are more important than than to make new one.I feel this way for two reasons which I am going to explore in this essay.

Firstly,the friendships which are going on for a long time have a better trusts between them.One can always rely on their old friends in case of any emergence.My personal experience is a compelling example of this,5 years ago,a huge cyclone came to Bengal which destroyed many punblic and personal properties including mine.I lost my house and all my personal belongings,I had no place to sleep and no money to buy anything but when my best friend from college got to know about this,he came for my rescue all the way from the other side of the city.He gave a place to sleep and helped me getting back on my feet, which took almost 6 months.In those 6 months he and his wife took care of my every need without any hesitation.if it had not been him, I would have become a homeless person.

Secondly,Old friends have a much better relations with you and also your family.Parents are usually worried about the type of friend their kid have outside home,having an old friend which is recongnised and trusted by your family will give then a sense of relief.These friends are often treated as a member of family.For instance,my brother have a best friend eversince he was a little kid.The two grew up together and used to play alot in eachother's houses.5 years ago when my brother and I moved to a different country for educational purposes,my parents often felt very lonely but when my brother's friend got to know about this,he started visiting my parents on a regular basis and respected them as their own parents.This made my parents situation a lot better than before and also provide us a sense of comfort.

In conclosion,I am of the opinion that staying in touch with your old friends have a lot more impotance than meking new friends.This is because of the reasons that long time friends are always ready to help you out financially and socially.