Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As modern education keeps developing, students do their best to keep up with their studying tasks. Everyone has his very own style to absorb information. In my opinion, I believe that The best way for students to succeed is to understand the ideas, not just to know them as granted facts. I think this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First, Students will attain more knowledge when they reason the content of their studying materials when a student finds out how the idea was created. Then it will make sense to his mind. Also, That will encourage him to seek more information to know about this exciting content. For example, When I was in high school, I had hardship with studying physics. As it was crucial to my future specialty in college, I had to deal with it urgently. I tried to look into more resources and watched some videos that explain the facts and simplifying the concepts. I found out that physics is so much fun. I even tried to take extra classes in physics to quench my thirst to know more about this scientific branch. If I had not tried to understand the roots of the concepts, I would not have had the chance to explore this fantastic material.

Moreover, Understanding the facts enable students te to retain the information for a long time. On the other hand, when we just memorize the ideas, the information does not stick to your mind. Learned information always vaporizes because we did not give our brain the bases that enable it to preserve the facts inside. Thus, only The logic information will remain with time. For instance, Last year, in my final math exam. I noticed that some students are writing some equations before the exam starts. Later on, I asked them for a reason, and they said that these equations were so hard to understand; therefore, they memorized them. Once they went to the exam, they felt that they are going to lose it. Hence they wrote down on the blank sheet, as their brain can not hold them that long.

IN conclusion, I firmly believe that student will benefit more when they understand the ideas because the information will be more natural to be digested, which encourage them to know more. Also, their brain will retain the views for a longer time.