Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed towards young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is critically important to raise our children properly, Therefore we have to decide what they should watch on television especially kids' advertisements. In my opinion, I believe that little kids should not be allowed to watch media ads that are directed towards them. As these television advertisements promote wrong information which manipulates kids' mind, while toddlers at this age are not well developed to differentiate between which is useful, and which is harmful. Besides, the Ideas they receive through these channels affect their behavior badly.

First of all, toddlers at this age are vulnerable, as they did not develop the right mindset that allows them to decide what is bad and what is good. If they watch an advertisement promoting a cereal that is entirely not healthy, they do not understand the criteria of healthy food. The companies want to make a profit despite the fact the product is good or bad. For instance, my son who is four years old kept asking for the cotton candy cereal that he watched in the advertisement. when I revised the ingredients for the cereal online, I found out the cup of the cereal is loaded with sugar. While the advertisement completely ignores mentioning this fact in the promotion, I decided not to buy the cereal. If I had submitted to my child's wishes, I would have caused him to get diabetes.

Moreover, these advertisements affect our little one's behavior badly, As these ads increase the temper tantrum and urge for those children.

Kids watching advertisements that promote favorite products will probably keep asking their parents to buy them. If parents respond to these urges, it will never end. As a result, kids will believe that they can own everything, they watch on the television. For instance, my niece who is two years old, asks my sister for all the toys related to Disney channels that she watches daily. When my sister refused, she kept crying and complaining all day. Sometimes she gets in a long temper tantrum that turns her parents's life to hell. Once my sister canceled the subscription with the channel, my niece's bad behavior ceased.

In conclusion, I believe that targeting toddlers with advertisements should be disallowed as those kids are incapable of deciding between wrong and right. Also, kids' behavior is affected badly.