Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I can't entirely agree with the statement that broad education is better than specialization. Focusing on one branch will give strength in this specific material, and reaching our goals rapidly. Also, students can proceed to get an advanced certificate in their majors.

First, specialization provides focusing on this narrow area of science. This focus results in strength in one branch. When people have power in one area, that leads to proficiency. We all should target being excellent in one material, not being mediocre in many braches. For example, Bill Gates is a role model for success. We can not think of any content but computer science when we mention his name. His exceptional performance came from focusing on one area and being dedicated to his passion for software. If he had not to focus on one branch, he would not have been the Microsoft founder.

Secondly, Studying one branch will decrease the time to reach our goals. We do not need to waste a long time on many branches to get a well-paid career. Saving time also means saving money. So navigating through many courses is not a time or cost-effective. For example, when I went to college. I just picked chemistry courses, as my target was pharmacy school. I did not get distracted or ripped off by enrolling in pharmacy-unrelated courses. Therefore I managed to be a pharmacist earlier than my colleagues.

Finally, a student can invest the time in taking a higher certificate in their majors. Students can apply for a Ph.D. This highly ranked certificates will increase the opportunity for high-level positions like managers and CEOs. For instance, my husband quenched his love for statistics by enrolling in a post-doctoral fellowship program. This certificate encouraged many pharmaceutical companies to offer him high positions. In a short time, he became a vice president for a biotech company. Therefore he jumped rapidly to a remarkable post.

In conclusion, I believe it is more effective to specialize in one area than distracting ourselves with too many branches. This focus will save time and money. And pave our way to a successful career. As specialization is like cut to the chase.