Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

No one can deny the significant role of friends in our life. They give us support and eliminate our loneliness. I agree with the statement that it is critical maintaining our relationship with old friends than exploring new affiliations. Friendship is measured always with quality not the quantity or number. Also, old friends are trusted more than the new companions, and getting to know new friends is time- consuming.

First, Friendship is graded by quality, not by the numbers. We can have just one or two good friends and feel completely satisfied. On the other hand, we can have tons of useless, unsupportive and nonloyal friends and feel entirely alone. Friends have roles in our life need to be fulfilled. If we do not have a mutual balanced relationship with them, so there is no reason to waste our precious time in this kind of relationship. For example, last year, I had a major problem with my husband, I felt very lost and was crying non-stop. Therefore I called my relatively new friend to comfort me in this hard situation. But she was not supportive at all as she did not show any sympathy, or offered any guidance on how to solve my problem. I felt so lonely, and I decided to end our friendship.

Secondly, Our old friends are more trusted than new people. Trust is really important factor as we get really engaged with our friends. We invite them to come over. Also, we share with them many personal details. If they are not trusted enough, we will be completely unsafe around them. For example, I had a work situation last month. I had to leave my son with my friend for a few hours. When I decided which one I could trust to accompany my son, I chose the oldest friend I know, because I know her in and out for a long time. My long experience with her validated my decision.

Finally, making new friends is a long process it needs a lot of time and energy. We need at least couple of yeas to call a new person a friend.

Once we accomplish that, we should maintain this relation. We need to preserve what we achieved with our old friends and build on this bond that we created with them.

In conclusion, I believe that we all should maintain our link with our old friends instead of making new friends. This will make our life more efficient and minimize the time and the energy . Also, it will ensure good quality of friends, and feel safer among them.