Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny the significant role of friends as they give us support and eliminate our loneliness. I agree with the statement that it is critical to maintaining our relationship with old friends rather than to explore new affiliations with new friends. Frendshindship is always measured with quality, not the quantity or number. Also, old friends are trusted more than the new companions, and getting to know new friends is time-consuming.

First, Friendship is graded by quality, not by the numbers. We can have just one or two good friends and feel completely satisfied. On the other hand, we can have tons of useless, unsupportive, and unloyal friends and feel entirely alone. Friends have roles in our life need to be fulfilled. If we do not have a mutually balanced relationship with them, so there is no reason to waste our precious time in this kind of link. For example, last year, I had a significant problem with my husband. I felt very lost and was crying non-stop. Therefore I called my relatively new friend to comfort me in this hard situation. But she was not supportive at all as she did not show any sympathy or offered any guidance on how to solve my problem. I felt so lonely, and I decided to end our Friendship.

Secondly, Our old friends are more trusted than new people. Trust is an essential factor as we get engaged with our friends. We invite them to come over. Also, we share with them our details about our family and work. If they are not trusted enough, we will be utterly unsafe around them. For example, I had a work situation last month, and I had to leave my son with my friend for a few hours. When I decided which one I could trust to accompany my son, I chose the oldest friend I know, because I know her in and out for a long time. My long experience with her validated my decision.

Finally, making new friends is a long process. It needs a lot of time and energy. We need at least a couple of years to call a new person, a friend.

Once we accomplish that, we should maintain this relation. We need to preserve what we achieved with our old friends and build on this bond that we created with them.