Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the effect of governments' money spending approaches on the development of society. in this regard, one controversial question is whether it is better that governments spend money on improving internet access or improving public transportation. Despite arguments asserting that governments should spend more money on public transportation, I believe otherwise, maintaining that spending money on the internet has more benefits for people.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that thanks to the advent of computers, people can accomplish their works from long distance. If all people have access to the internet, they would not need to go to different places in the city and consequently, they will use public transportation less. Therefore, by doing so need for spending more money on public transportation will eliminate. For instance, many people should use public transportation to do their banking activities. However, nowadays, there are different options such as cell phone applications or web sites that provide a great possibility to do banking from home.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that nowadays communication with the whole word is more important than easy access to different places in a city. By using the internet, companies can extend their activities beyond a city and it brings them more success. for instance, my brother has established a new company that provides some services for people who need advice about the computers. This company has not a specific place for its employees and they work from their homes. All the services they provide need the internet. After a year they have many customers from different places in the country. Had not people had access to the internet, my brother would not have become successful.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, one can conclude that it is far better that governments spend money on the internet because not only will people have less need for public transportation but also, they can extend their jobs by using the internet.