Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one cast a shadow of doubt on the effect of movies and television on young people's behavior. In this regard, one controversial question is whether movies and television have negative effects on youngs or positive. Despite the arguments asserting that these media have negative effects, I believe otherwise, maintaining that young people's behavior can become better by watching proper movies and television programs.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that most television and movies have positive and negative characters. However, most of the time producers try to show the success of positive characters. by doing so, positive characters become more attractive for young people and they choose these characters as a model role. As a personal experience, during my teen years, one of the TV canals showed a series with a character that efforted to help other people. This series influenced me too much. Therefore, always when I saw someone needed help I attempted to help him or her. For example, when I saw an old woman that could not carry her baggage I got them to help her.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that television canals have different programs about psychology and science that can elevate young people's knowledge. This knowledge can help youngs to behave better. For instance, many years ago a television canal had a program about the psychology of behaving people with each other. Watching this program by my brother led to that his behavior with me changed completely. Had not my brother watched that TV program, he would have not changed his behavior with me.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account one can conclude that watching movies and television can have beneficial effects on young people because not only can they find appropriate model roles, but also they can learn how to behave with others.