Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should assign homework for students every day.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the effect of teachers' teaching approaches on the students' success. In this regard one controversial question is whether it is better that teachers give assignments to the students or not. Despite the arguments asserting that teachers should not give students assignments, I believe otherwise, maintaining that assignments have beneficial effects on the students. To support this, there are myriads of reasons, two of which are going to be aptly elucidated through the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that dealing with assignments provides an opportunity for students to find out lessons in which they have problems. Therefore, they can review classes' lessons or ask their questions from teachers in the next class. For instance, when I was a high school student, my chemic teacher gave us an assignment each week. When I were accomplishing one of the assigments, I found out that I had understood class's lessons wrongly. So, in the next class I asked my teacher to explain briefly what he explained in the previous class. Had not my teacher given the assignments, I would not have corrected my wrong understinding.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that when students accomplish assignments, they could remember easily what they have learned. So, this leads to enhancement in their studing performance and consequently in their exams' grades. Recently, a study has been carried out at the University of Tehran about the effect of giving assignments to the students on their exams' grades. Scientists evaluated two group of students. The first group's teacher gave assignments to the students but the second group did not do any assignments. According to the results have been obtained, students who accomplished the assignments got twenty percent more in their final exams compared to the students who did not do assignments.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons to account, one can conclude that giving assignments to the students no only does help them to find out their misunderstinding but also helps them to remember what they learned in the long-term.