Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the effect of parent's rewarding approach on the prosperity of their children in school exams. In this regard, one controversial question is whether it is better that parents give money to children when they get high marks in school or not. Despite the arguments asserting that parents should not offer money to children, I believe otherwise, maintaining that giving money to children when they become successful has many advantages. To support this, there are myriads of reasons, two of which are going to be aptly elucidated through the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that giving money to children when they become successful in their exams leads to more effort. The children need incentives to encourage them to be persistent in their lessons. Therefore, parents can offer children different awards such as money. A study has been done in the University of Tehran about the effect of getting money to children on their final exams' grade. Scientists studied two different student groups. The first group was rewarded when they get high grades in their exams. However, the second group's students did not get any awards for their success. According to the results obtained, students who were rewarded attained 15 percent more in their exams' grades in comparison to the students who were not rewarded.

Furthermore, another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that by giving money to the children, they learn that they should make an effort to attain what they want. This approach prepares them for future life. For instance, when I was an elementary student and wanted something from my parents, always they promised me that if you could get a good grade in your exams, we would buy what you want. That behavior taught me that I should make an effort when I want to reach my aims.

To sum up, taking all the aforementioned reasons to account, one can conclude that giving money to children when they get high grades in school can drive them to effort more in their lessons. In addition, it teaches them to make an effort to get what they want.