Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast doub on the fact that making friendships and having friendds is an important factor to in the contemporary era, and also forging friendship can be considered as a basic needs of human beings. Some people are of the opinion that it is more important to keep old friends, others believe that making new ones has more importance. When it comes to me, although making new friends enlarges our circle of friendship, it is more important to maitain old friends. To support this, there are several resons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following.

First and foremost, the most prominent reason which comes to my mind is that making new friends is very demanding and it takes times for people to win the trust of their friends and enjoy the companionship of each others. According to the fact that, nowadays, most people have hectic daily schedules and they cannot spend a significant part f their time forging new friendships. Needlesss to say, only with keeping their old friends it iis possible for one to satisfy their basic need of socializing with their friends. For example, last year, I tried to make some new friends to enlarge my friendship, but due to my heavy workload I was not successfull to make good friends as well as my old friends.

Another noteworthy reason that should be taken into account is that, friends are aware about each others personality and as time goes, their emotional bonds get stonger; as a result, they can ubnderstand each other better than new friends they make. It goes without saying that, one can speak about all aspects of his or her life without any limitation and count on her old friends helping hands to overcome hurdles she may encounter in her whole life. So keeping old friends is more important and benefits one in the long run. Take my personal experience as a compelling example; a couple of years ago, I was suffering from financial issue and I needed some money to survive in that economic climate, it was difficult for me to ask my new friends for money, but I asked my old friends for their hepl without any shyness because we kknow each other profoundly. Had I not keeped my old friends, I would not have been able to cope with that tough situation.

In short all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the fact that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends. The fact that forging new friendship is time consuming, coupled with strong bond between old friends, is the reason which strengthens my claim.