Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

In general, knowledge is important to improve the world. For instance, we can use this knowledge to make life easier and more comfortable. In this regard, it is important for students to learn and understand facts and concepts and use them to achieve their goal, which is making life better. In my view, it is more important for students to understand concepts than it is for them to learn facts. In what follows, I will delve into the most crucial reasons to substantiate my viewpoint.

The first compelling reason corroborating my idea is that, understand concepts can cause students to learn the specific knowledge deeper which can help to understand the fact better and it can be useful for solving the problems in their knowledge. In order to explain the reason, it is worth mentioning this example in my college I had a genetics course. I learned all facts about genetics but I remember that I face a problem in my Laboratory experiment. I could not solve it because I was not able to figure out the cause until I read my books and finally, I could get the concept of that specific knowledge.

Add to this, the second reason is that knowing concepts help us to discover new things. knowing concepts means, knowing the details of the specific knowledge which can be useful for more discoveries and improved knowledge. For instance, in genetics knowledge the initiate scientists discovered how DNA can provide a transcript. They could not explain how we can see diversities in nature until after a while new scientists according to its concepts and study it in detail, about which past scientists discovered before, could explain the diversities in nature too.

To wrap everything up, I count myself among the proponents of the latter idea. understanding concepts can help to learn deeper and even cause discover new facts.