Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, there has been a wide range of scope of knowledge for students to learn. Since they have a limited amount of time to broaden their horizon at school, it is crucial for authorities to determine and prioritize what students should learn, concepts and ideas, or facts. A controversial question, which is often raised in this regard is which one is more important. Different people hold different perspectives according to their previous experiences. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that the advantages of becoming familiar with concepts and ideas are immense and indisputable for students. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first noteworthy reason coming to my mind is that university education is a gateway for students to go beyond the class materials. This purpose can reach if students are surrounded by a great variety of new concepts and ideas that stimulate their curiosity. As a part of this approach, they will be involved in the process that pushes them to examine the new notions, consequently, put theory into practice. While learning obvious facts has not any attractive parts to motivate for more understanding and finding new angle since all of them were discovered before. For instance, teachers can ask students to do a research project about new concepts in astronomy like the black hole to encourage students to learn about this subject.

Another exquisite point to be mentioned is that this method will lead to finding novel facts and prevent confine in some defined facts. Nowadays, people are confronting countless unsolved questions and dilemma that needs to be solved. One of the best places for seeking answers to these questions is schools and universities as they have young fresh minds. Thus, by giving the concepts to students and occupying their minds with simple and complex questions, they may reach some unbelievable answers or facts. For instance, an Iranian student who was following the idea of how human beings can make energy from renewable energy resources won the prize of National Innovative Methods.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above, I firmly believe it is way better for students to learn more about concepts and ideas. This way assists them to go beyond their regular lessons. In addition, it may surprisingly lead to discovering new facts.