Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning is always a growing process. It helps to know something in a particular aspect which will be helpful for our growth. Learning to gain knowledge may be in two ways.First is just to know the facts and theoretical knowledge about the topics. Second is to understand those concepts and facts with respective practical knowledge. I think students have to learn the things and understand them and approach in a practical way rather than just learning facts. The following are some examples to support the statement.

To begin, when a concept is taught to us and learn it just as a fact, we may not be able to know the exact application of it. For example, we learnt a mathematical formula without any examples or application related to it. When we are given a problem where we need to use the formula to solve it, we may not be able to try that formula because we don't know that the specified formula is the key to the problem. As we don't know the application of it, even though we memorized the formula we are not able to specify it.

Further, there is a saying that practising and application of it makes people to remember that more than simply reading. This can be related to that. A fact can be just read and memorized. But, when we think about it in a few days we may not remember. But, when we are able to do it in practical way, we may learn and remember it for a longer time. For example, in chemistry lab due to mixing of various chemicals, a particular colour may be obtained. When we do this in the lab, we can see the colour and also remember it. This will be beneficial in both the ways.

In my conclusion, I agree that learning should be understood and learn the specific applications rather than just the facts.