Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, education has always played a prominent role in every individual’s life. Due to its’ prominent importance, scholars have tried to understand the best ways to educate students and the most efficient ways to learn different topics. One of the issues regarding to education is the importance of understanding ideas and concepts and learning facts. Although some might maintain that learning facts is more important for the students, I personally contend that understanding ideas and concepts is more important. In the following paragraphs I will elaborate on my view point.

The most significant reason is that in order to learn a subject, it is necessary to understand ideas and concepts related to the topics in order to even learn the facts. In other words, leaning ideas and concepts is something that can help a student to learn a fact and if he does not understand the concept and the whole idea, He wouldn’t learn facts. Personally speaking, it was very difficult for me to learn linear regression analysis in my business analytics class, and I couldn’t learn the facts related to the topic. But when the instructor tried to explain the concept of linear regression, I learn the whole topic and after that learning facts became much easier.

The second reason coming to mind is that learning ideas and concepts broad the horizons of a student mind, to understand the topic and learn further information regarding to that topic. For example in order to learn about the Newton law of movement in physics, it is really helpful for a student to understand the origin of the idea and the concept of the law, and learning the fact does not help him to learn the subject deeply.

To wrap it up, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that for students understanding ideas and concepts is more important than learning facts around a subject.