Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Throughout history, teaching has always been a very important job in all societies. In this regard, one of the most controversial issues is whether the teachers were more appreciated by society in the past or in the present time. Although some might maintain that teacher were more valued in the past, I firmly contend that they are more valued nowadays. In the following paragraphs I will delve into three reasons to elaborate on my standpoint.

First of all, the salary of teachers has been increased very much in recent years. And in fact, the average salary of a job can shows how much value the society puts on that job. For instance, in the past 40 years, the average salary of the teachers in the United States have been increased by 50%. And that is far more than other salary increases in the society.

Secondly, nowadays every individual in the society, value education more than before and consequently value teacher more than before. Personally speaking, my parents were more concern about my education than their parents were about their education. And this results to more appreciation to my teachers during my studying; They always contact my teachers to thank them and occasionally, the send gift for them to appreciate them.

Finally, I Think the progress in all scientific fields and the changes they made in all the people life had shown the importance of science to everyone. And they know the best way to learn the science and to become successful in the modern world is through education and teachers are the core of education. So, all the people in the society know the important role they have in developing the society and thus they value and appreciate them

To wrap it up, I hold this idea that nowadays teachers are more appreciated and valued than they were in the past.