Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Learning in schools or universities has different aspects. Students may tend to learn concepts or facts. Society is often divided on the importance of each one. I disagree that learning ideas and concepts is more important and believe in the applicability of learning facts. There are three reasons why I subscribe to this idea which are separately elaborated hereunder.

First, facts are absolute and don't change with time while the concepts may change. To explain more, consider physics or mathematic's facts. After the discovery or derivation, they stay stable and scientists can use them always with mere changes. As a result, they can elaborate on the facts or find more implications for them. On the contrary, ideas and concepts are changing from time to time or between different cultures and individuals.

Second, I believe that facts are more practical in human everyday life while learning the concepts may be the concern of some special persons. For example, engineers use consistent scientific facts to ease the ways that people do their tasks, as anyone can see in industry or even health and medical issues. Moreover, the range of its benefits covers more people. Understanding concepts have nothing to do with matters that most people are facing every day.

Finally, I think that learning facts is easier for students, so they will accept them better. Facts are tangible, straightforward, and easy to understand while concepts sometimes have different interpretations that can confuse anyone. In addition, the educating process is more convenient for teachers to teach facts rather than explaining a lot about ambiguous ideas for some confused and bored attendants.

In conclusion, I am on the side of the importance of learning facts in comparison with concepts or ideas because learning the facts is easier, more applicable, and reliable.