Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Life today is easier and more comfortable than it was when your grandparents were children.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Life is getting more complicated every day and trends in quality of life have been called into question. Some people believe that new generations experience a better life than their grandparents while others feel that life was much easier fifty years ago. Personally, I am of the opinion that humans feel much comfort in their daily life in the present-day. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, it seems that modern life has made our lives easier and more comfortable. New time-saving machines are being made to meet the specific needs of people. Also, modernity has brought about convenience which has reduced household chores. My mother's experience demonstrates that this is true. Way before dishwasher's production, my mother used to wash them all by herself and this would not only make her tired and fall behind her schedule but also the pain she would suffer from it because of her diseases was intolerable. As soon as the new machine was launched we bought it for my mother as a gift and if it was not for technology, she would not feel better both physically and mentally.

Secondly, technology has increased the standard of living in other aspects like communication and traveling. Thinking of a hundred years ago, people might have had a tough time to migrate or go on a vacation without planes or up-to-the-minute trains and as a result, they might have become exhausted inevitably. It is worth pointing out that the pace of development in technology and science provides a situation in which humans are able to rest and feel calm and relaxed, in consequence, people are much happier in comparison to past and more satisfied. For example, I have heard about my aunt who was accepted in the university far from her hometown and family where there was no cellphone or even telephone to be in touch with her parents. Moreover, insufficient transportation infrastructure forced her to stay in that city. Therefore she got homesick and that situation stimulated negative emotions such as depression and aggression. When she came back after ten years she found out that her father had been dead for a week and the lack of telecommunication system was the main reason for her unawareness.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that living in the twenty-first century is more painless. This is because innovative experts are creating new devices useful for human’s life and people can travel all around the world in less than a month.