Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

The advertising industry plays a pivotal role in businesses. Advertisements inform people about products and services, thereby people be encouraged to buy things or use services. In this regard, some people believe that most advertisements make products seem better than they really are in order to convince consumers to buy the products. Having two reasons on my mind, I agree with this notion as I think advertisement should be attractive to people and also it is necessary for one company to show its product more interesting to remain competitive. My reasons are explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, showing products better than they really are causes advertisements to be successful in persuading people to buy the product. Indeed, the main goal of advertisements is to make the product attractive enough that customers be convinced to buy it. Thus, one advertisement needs to show the product more useful and beneficial. For instance, a company that sells cupcakes should show the cupcakes so delicious in order to make them attractive to people. Therefore, it might use a group of people in the advertisement that admire the taste of the cake or use visual effects to show how the cake tissue is soft. Consequently, the cake would be considered tastier by people watching the advertisement.

Furthermore, in order to compete with other companies, one company should stress benefits of its product and ignore its weaknesses in the advertisement. Rarely does it occur that a weakness of the product is pointed out in the advertising unless for special marketing strategies. Under such a circumstance, highlighting the good features and ignoring the flaws, a product would seem much better than it really is. Moreover, it is rather common in advertisements to mention the weakness of other products, although without naming the exact product, explaining why consumers should buy the product or what advantageous the product has over a similar product. As a result, the advertisement exaggerates the benefits of the product that in turn makes the product look better.

In a word, taking to account all the aforementioned, I am of opinion that most advertisements trying to make products better than they really are. This way companies not only would be successful in encouraging people to buy the products but also can compete with their rivals.