Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The most important investment for a company is to spend money to improve the work skills of its employees.

Every company seeks the most appropriate way to gain a competitive advantage over its competitors and increase productivity. Managers try to implement methods to see a higher return on their investments. Some people are of the opinion that the best way to reach this goal is to promote workers' skills. I, myself, disagree with this statement because of two reasons which will be outlined below.

First and foremost, In my opinion, one major factor in determining the company's success is the employee's level of motivation to get their tasks done. A company cannot achieve its goal unless its employees are eager to work for the company. They should consider themselves as a member of a family. In order to do so, the company's leaders can allocate a specific budget to some extra benefits. these benefits can run the gamut from small things like celebrating employees' birthdays to giving financial aids or health insurance. If employees receive adequate compensation from the company, they will become more focused on their tasks, and as a result, the company will move toward its vision.

Secondly, on the lists of factors which determine the prosperity of a company, having access to the latest technologies and trends ranks near the top. A company will not benefit from its highly skilled workers if it does not employ the facilities that are used by competitors. Using up-to-date software and methods can boost productivity and decrease costs simultaneously. My personal experience is a great example of this. I remembered that our company had used the traditional method to control the level of its inventory. However, the employees were experienced enough, the errors were inevitable, and the number of them was increasing every day. Our manager decided to use the latest method and replaced the old-fashioned one with computerized technology, and the correctness rate turned to the normal level. This replacement did not cost the company a lot, but the returns were significant.

To sum up, I think there are other major factors which have a tremendous return on company's investment, instead of increasing employees skill. Improving employees can be beneficial to the overall performance of the company to some extends, but a company will not take advantage of this factor unless it has motivated employees and the latest technology.