Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which television plays in the modern era. It has some revolutionary effects on societies. Some people hold the view that movies and TV have adverse impacts on the way that young people behave, whereas others believe that they are beneficial for young people. Nevertheless, I concur with the latter group's opinion. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons substantiating my point of view.

To begin with, I assert that by using television, young people can be in touch with the latest news of the entire world. Knowing what is going on around the world, youngsters can get familiar with lots of concepts; Consequently, they can elevate their consciousness. Also, getting familiar with all the happenings around the world can boost their self-confidence since they can have a debate about these happenings with other peoples, especially adults. Additionally, they can prevent terrible incidents if they watch the news.

Furthermore, watching movies and programs on television can improve the knowledge of adolescents. They can watch a documentary or a scientific program and add to their knowledge. Additionally, it can broaden their perspective in many ways and teach them how to behave in many challenging situations. Youngsters have changing interests, and they are usually confused with them. Watching these kinds of programs can help them find their passions and interests. My personal experience is a compelling example of this concept. When I was eighteen years old, I was confused since I did not know what major should I choose in university. Once, I was watching television, and I accidentally watched a program about physics. I understood that I have a severe passion for physics. Therefore, I chose a major related to physics and know I am very happy with what I have chosen. Since then, I really believe that such programs can affect people and cause them to find their path in their life.

Considering all the reasons mentioned above, one could conclude that there are some benefits associated with watching movies and television programs. Adolescents can watch such programs in order to be aware of the latest news. It can be helpful for them and can have a positive influence on their behavior by boosting their self-esteem. Additionally, they can find their interests and passions by watching some instructive programs such as documentaries and scientific programs, to name but a few. Therefore, they really help youngsters.