Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends

No one can cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the role which friendship plays in our lives. We would be so lonely without our friends; therefore, we should appreciate our friendships. There are a number of people who hold the view that it is important to maintain our friendship over a long time even we do not have many friends, whereas others are inclined toward the opinion that it is more important to have the ability to make many new friends easily. Nevertheless, I concur with the former group's opinion. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will elaborate on the reasons substantiating my point of view.

To begin with, I assert that old friendships are severely valuable; therefore, we should maintain them no matter what. We can count on our friends in many challenging situations, and we can solve our problems with the help of them. There are few people who help you through your difficulties; therefore, you should recognize those people and appreciate them as much as you can. Sometimes, even your parents can not help you because the problem may be too complicated. In these circumstances, you can get help from your very close friends. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Many years ago, when I was driving to my sister's school in order to peak her up, I had an unfortunate accident. I could not call my mom since I knew she could be worry, so I called one of my friends and asked her to peak my sister from her school. If I had called my mother, she would have been panicked. Consequently, one of my oldest friends helped me in this situation. I could not ask a new friend to do such a favor to me.

Another equally important reason which I think deserves some word is that it takes a while to trust someone. Therefore, when you make a new friend, you can not trust him immediately. In the modern era, people do not tell their mysteries to others easily, let alone to a new friend. Accordingly, our old friendships are worth so much since we know them, and we can trust them.

Considering all the reasons mentioned above, one could conclude that it is better to maintain our friendships with a small number of people rather than making lots of new friends. There are some benefits associated with it. We can rely on them in our difficulties, and we can trust them and tell them our secrets.