Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's world advancement of technology and advent of various media play a prominent role in the upbringing and demeanor of children and young people. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether movies and television have more negative than positive effects on the way young people behave. Some people possess the conviction that programs of television, notably movies, generally, are detrimental to young people whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that its merits overweigh its demerits. I personally contend that disadvantages of television and movies and the influence of them on youth conduct are more than its benefits. The following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that nowadays, media involve people with their unlimited programs. In other worlds, due to the fact that they want to earn more economic benefits as well as have more impact on thoughts and tendencies of people, they are in a contention and struggle to attract more attention and intrigue more popularity. As a result, every day, from morning to late night, host of youth spend their invaluable time on watching movies and so on. As a consequence, most of the youth are lazy and do not struggle for achieving their goals. This laziness and not attending to public exhibit itself in some statistics. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country, show that more than 30 percent of young people are unemployed and most of them do not have any special skill.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that a great number of movies promote a harsh and rude behavior. Indeed, these movies have heroes which deliberately or inadvertently encourage people to be angry and fight with others. This undesirable implication is manifest in the public. In my opinion, had we believed these behaviors have not relation with media, it could be naive. Take my personal experience as an example; I was a teacher in high school for 4 years. I paid attention on my students and discern that releasing new season of popular movies could have unbelievable impact on students. They imitate their hairstyle, gesture and also way of talking to others.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one soon realizes that media have some unpleasant and damaging effects on behavior of youth which overweigh its benefits. Consequently, it is recommended that parents pay more attention to programs and movies which their children watch.