Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends and the ability to establishing friendship play a key role in all aspects of each persons' lives. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether keeping friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important and delightful or making many new friends easily. Some people possess the conviction that maintaining old relationships is more fruitful whereas others hold the opposite and allege that the ability to establishing new rapport is better. I personally contend that old friends are like jewelry and we can find nobody similar to them. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that according to psychological point of view, people have usually have a dependence and tendency to with who they grow up. In other words, had you grown up and cultivated with a person or a special group, you would have a more intimate relationship with them than people whom you acquainted with in mature ages. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country, shows that people who maintain their rapport with three or more old friends have been happier and pleasant and also successful than who have overlooked their old friends and commenced new relationships.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that basically, thanks to the fact that old friends know the ethics and popularities and also families of each other, they could be more beneficial to their friends in tough situations than. Therefore, they can help their friends in coping with dilemmas and obstacles. On the other hand, new friendships, in most times, are based on working relationships. Thus, these relations are not stable and in many cases are casual. Take my personal experience as an example. I were unemployed and had some economical problems at a time interval. I were too anxious and angry that time. In this severe condition, just my old friends helped me to manage this harsh condition and solve my problems.

In conclusion, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons one can realize that although making new friends is good, they cannot be a replace for old friends. consequently, it is highly recommended that people keep their relationships with old friends. However, they should not forget the importance of establishing new rapports.