Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One of the best ways that parents can help their teenage children prepare for adult life is to encourage them to take a part-time job.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, our society is changed. Parents should be open minded and help their children in any way possible. Some may say that teenagers should be treated carefully because they may end up in a wrong direction. In my opinion, parents should encourage their younger adults to work any part time job that they will find it interesting.

First of all, by working the adolescents will grow personally and develop new skills. A great way to learn new skills is by getting involve in something, which they would be responsible as well. If parents support their kids financially all the time, they would not be motivated to do something different than their comfort zone. To illustrate, when I was a teenager, my cousin Tomas was the same age as I was. His father never allow him to work any kind of jobs. After Tomas finished college, he had to work to develop different skills because the job market required students that were already trained and prepared for a variety of tasks. He spent the entire year, trying to catch up with his weaknesses. Meanwhile, his friends were ready to deal with the real world. Actually, he felt disappointed that his father did not let him to work before he finished the college. According to this story, parents should really help their children by letting them working different kinds of jobs, so that they could grow personally and professionally.

Secondly, it is important to consider the fact that children could expand their network by just exposing themselves to different work environment. For instance, three decades ago, I was still an adolescent, I had to work because my family's budget was tight. I felt the responsibility to get out in the real world and find a job, which would have helped me to buy what I needed it. Moreover, I worked at the local library, where I not only learned how to communicate, but also met with different people from different backgrounds. Some of those people that I met back in the day, are still my friends even today as I write this essay.

Overall, by working part time, students would have the opportunity to expand their social circle.

In conclusion, parents should allow their children to work part time. This is because children will develop new skills that would help them later in their lives. And because they will be able to make new friends and meet people from different backgrounds.