Do you agree or disagree with the following statement:

Only people who earn a lot of money are successful.

In this progressive and sophisticated world, Money plays an increasingly important role in people’s lives as it affects every facet of their life. The controversial question that arises in this regard is that whether money determines a person is successful or not. While some people are inclined towards the idea that money is a crucial factor in distinguishing successful people from unsuccessful ones, others believe against this idea. As far as I am concerned, I am of the opinion that money is not a primary factor when we want to consider someone as a successful person. In the following paragraph, I will delve into some reasons and examples justifying my point of view.

The first reason coming to my mind is that without any doubt the definition of success varies from a person to another person depending on people’s personalities, perspectives, therefore only one element such as money cannot be considered as a tool for measuring success. While for some people success means finding high-paying jobs, others find success in having a healthy family and loyal friends. Moreover, there are individuals who believe one cannot be considered as a successful person unless he/she fulfill their responsibilities as a citizen of a society in improving and developing it. In addition, depending on people’s religions, the concept of success is different. For instance, Muslims believe one who accomplishes their religious duties during the day perfectly is a successful person.

Another noteworthy reason is that happiness is an inevitable part of being successful, whereas money cannot guarantee to achieve happiness. The prominent important goal in everyone’s life is being happy which is an internal incentive that is not related to money most of the time. Not all affluent people are happy in their life. We all know some wealthy people who have a lot of problems with their spouses or their children which prevent them to be happy. Besides, suffering from incurable diseases cannot let us be happy in spite of the huge amount of money in our bank account. While there are many people with low wages who enjoy their life and happiness. Therefore, if someone with billions of dollars is not happy with his/her life, he could not consider a successful person.

To summarize, from what has been discussed above we can conclude that money cannot indicate success since the definition of success is different for people, furthermore, happiness which is an unavoidable part of the concept of success cannot gain only by money.