Some people believe that a college or a university education should be available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be available only to good students. Discuss these views, which view do you agree with? Explain why?

The issue of whether a college university education should be available to all students or only to good students aroused much controversy among people with different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people if were asked would agree with the statement that higher education should be accessible to good students while others have a negative attitude. As I am concerned, I completely agree with the former group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first point to be mentioned is that higher education includes hardship courses that need students to dedicate most of their time to study the materials that professors teach during class. As a result, only astute students who are enthusiastic about learning could pass these courses successfully. While students who were not diligent persons during their high school would not overcome this difficulty. And their grades will be disappointing. Many of them might lose their confidence since they think of themselves as useless and unsuccessful persons. While this opinion is totally wrong because they might not be gifted in the academic education, without any doubt, they are talented in a specific area, for instance, if they run a business they would be productive people in the society.

In approaching this issue, apart from the points that stated before, another reason that deserves some words is that higher education is really expensive. You have to pay a lot of money for tuition fee, accommodation. Furthermore, as a graduate or postgraduate student, you must do some researches and experiments which are costly. Not all student could afford these expenses, therefore, the family should invest their money only on their children who are good students, and otherwise, they waste their money. For example, I got my master degree in nutrition science, for my thesis I had to buy the special kit that produces only in Germany, my father spends all the costs, he knows, I really deserve it as I always was an outstanding student in my educational period.

Bay the way of conclusion, based on the arguments explored above, I am of the opinion higher education should be available to capable student, since, student should learn difficult courses and if they were not good at high school, their educational condition would deteriorate in college, also the higher education is really expensive and I think only astute students are worthwhile their family pay all those expenses.