Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at a young age.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, teenagers and young adults are getting more and more irresponsible with their money, which leads to them to be unable to have enough amount of money for emergency. Therefore, I agree with the statement that in order to become financially responsible adults, children should learn to manage their own money at young age, for the following reasons.

First of all, letting children to manage their own money can help them realize the importance of money. Since if all the expenses are paid directly from the parents, it is unlikely for children to notice that money is limited. For example, I still remember when I was eight years old, I did not know that money was such an important thing. So every time I went to the toys store, I would alway ask my parents to buy toys for me. Of course my parents would always decline my request, and I would get super angry. I did not know the reason until I turned twelve years old, the year that my parents let me manage my breakfast money, then I realized that to manage the money well was quite challenging. As a result, I stopped asking my parents to buy toys or video games for me.

Moreover, managing money at a young age can help children be independent. Because knowing that money is a limited resource could help them stop asking for help from their parents. For instance, after I started managing my own breakfast money, I began to consider how could I manage my money so I was able to have satisfying breakfast everyday. Ever since I have developed this sense of thinking, I became less dependent to my parents. Since I was capable to build my meal plan myself, which still helps me a lot today.

However, some people may argue that letting children manage their money too early could make them become targets to bad people, since they are easy to deceived. Yet in my points of view, parents can let children manage little amount of money first, just like I started from managing my breakfast money. This way parents can control the risk that children lose their money by being scammed.

In conclusion, being financially responsible is imperative for adults. If parents control the amount of money that they manage, letting children manage their own money can be a good way to achieve it.