Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents are the best teachers. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where information and technology growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, teachers have played a prominent role in educating children in all societies. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that parents are the best teachers while others look at this concept through a different lens. From my vantage point, parents are essential and good in many cases but they are not always the best. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that in the modern era parents do not have the same effect on their children as they had in the past. Some parents want to pass their values to their children. However, the world changes rapidly. The children of today are growing up in a different world from their parents’ world. Sometime, especially older ones, cannot keep up with rapid social or technological changes. In the past, parents made decision for their children’s job or their children’s field of study. On the other hand, nowadays, children have access to the wide ocean of internet which provides more reliable and up to date information. They can also take on-line courses with the most popular professors all over the world. Furthermore, they can contact with some experts and gain various experience on that field.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind. Parents are too close to their children emotionally. They sometimes limit a child’s freedom in the name of safety, in my opinion. They forbid their children to try new experience or take risks. For instance, a school may want to take the children camping, but parents may afraid of the child getting hurt. Another well-known example is when a child wants to study abroad, his/her parents take all of their efforts to keep their child near them. The noteworthy refreshingly intelligible statistics, revealed by a social research conducted in our country, show that more than 84 percent of parents are reluctant to let their children study abroad. Therefore, parents inhibit their children’s independence in many cases.

To make a long story short, parents teach their child the basic knowledge of daily life but I believe, they are not always the best teacher. If one weights the merits and demerits of the statements, one soon realizes that parents, nowadays, do not have the latest information and sometimes they limit their child’s opportunity in order to keep their child safety.