Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent times, there has been a widespread debate on whether parents today are more engaged in their children’s education or not. While some people believe that parents today are more involved to educate their children, I hold the opposite view. I think parents in the past are more engaged in their kid’s educational process.

To begin with, parents today have more than one job, so they do not have enough time to see their kids. The difficulty of life expense makes most parents to work for more than one career. For example, my father works in two different companies today because the first company gives him only $2000 per month. As a result, he is not able to cover all my family expenses because we are a big family. He decided to work in other company to compensate all the expanses. Obviously, he does not have any time to check his kid’s homework or even talk with them. On the other hand, life in the past was very cheap, so parents can have only one job and were able to spend enough time to involve with their children in their education.

In addition to the difficulty of life today, the advent of technology makes children independent. They tend to do their homework and solve all math problems by using electronic devices. For instance, my nephew, today, uses the calculator to solve any math issue. He does not need any help from his parents. Unlike kids in the past, they are prone to ask help from their parents when they struggle with any math problems because of the lack of technology at that time.

Last but not least, the educational system is completely different today. It mainly depends on having kids most of the time in school without any parent’s involvement. For example, after 2002, the government of Saudi Arabia established an educational law that force all children in elementary school to stay in the school twelve hours. Kids have to do all their homework and any projects before they leave the school. Therefore, parents are not completely involved in this educational process.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that parents today are not involved in their children educational process. This is because today parents have many jobs, kids become dependent on technology, and the educational system forces parents to not involve in their children’s learning.