Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that making decisions is always a challenge for human beings, especially for youths. In fact, young people build their future with their decisions, making it more vital for them. Some people believe that today, they are more independent in decision making. On the other hand, others think that today, they are more reliant on their parents. I firmly subscribe to the first group opinion for two main reasons and will mention them in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, in today's advanced life, youth are exposed to various kinds of information and are familiar with diverse types of life. In the past, they just saw a limited kind of lifestyle because they were in touch with the finite people around them. Also, in many cases, they follow their parents' beliefs and imitate their living methods. Therefore, they preferred to live like their parents and were depended on their decisions. On the other hand, today, they can see lots of lifestyles by surfing the internet. This opportunity enables young age people to become aware and more informed of living methods. Thus, they prefer to choose the best lifestyle among what they see. Besides, they prefer to make decisions on their own and be the person they really want to be.

Secondly, young people were more respectful of their parents' ideas than today, and parents forced their children to do what they want. With this in mind, in the past, young children had to be like their parents and didn't try to make decisions independently. Accordingly, they didn't learn how to decide and how to realize the best choice. But nowadays, contemporary families have accepted that everyone is entitled to create his own future. In many cases, parents even provide every requirement for their children to build their future on their own. Also, parents let them select among different situations and finally become accomplished in decision making. Consequently, by this change in modern families' opinion, youth can distinguish between true and false, and eventually become potential determiners.

In short, today, youth are more independent in decision making than in the past. Two main factors are involved in this: the advent of the technology enables young people to find their desired life, and parents realized that they must allow their children to stay on their own feet.