Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that independence is one of the most important issues in young people's lives. There has been a controversial debate among people living in the present time as to whether people relied on their families too much in the past that they do now. From my perspective, today's young people are more independent than in the past, and two reasons to support my viewpoint are presented as follows.

To begin with, the economic prosperity has led to independency. It is not a secret to any one that people living in the past suffered a lot from poverty since there was not a lot of opportunities to have a good career and they used to have their own farms and cultivated different corps on them, juveniles and children of families have to work with their parents to meet their needs. But, by the advent of different factories people started migrating to cities and a majority of families sent their children to metropolitan areas in order to find a job. As a result, by the industrialization of towns and cities, there were more independent individuals working in manufactures meaning they did not have to live with their parents and rely on them to earn money and fulfill financially obligations. No longer do youth difficulty find a job in comparison with their ancestors since more job opportunities are available that can give them a sense of independency since they earn money by themselves and without parents' help.

Furthermore, by the time, we are witnessing a lot of concepts and principles have changed which is another reason for today's juvenile independence. It is crystal clear that science and technology have developed through with people's opinions and beliefs have altered as well. So it is more likely that children in a family experience independence than people did in the previous times. To put it in more vivid picture, according to my grandmother, when she was young, she was not allowed to leave home to continue her education in city since city was a little far from her parents' house; unfortunately she could not be educated and independent person during her life time because of her parent's point of views. Had my grandmother lived in the present time, she would be a knowledgeable person and she would experience a beautiful sense of being independent. As you can see, through the passage of the time people and parents have changed their mind about different important issues.

In sum, not only have people's opinions and beliefs changed, they are also experiencing economic prosperity thereby they can earn their own money without relying on others' help