Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People often may debate this argument. It is not easy to agree or disagree with the following statements without considering good reasons for the choice. Many people may state that young people are too dependent on their parents in the recent era. Others may claim that youngsters are intelligent to make decisions for their lives. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that young people are able to make any decision in today's era. My opinion is based on the following reasons.

To begin with, due to advanced technology adults have easy access to any information they need. To elaborate broadly, the internet is such a blessing for young people. They can get any guidance by searching online. In fact, people have access to mobile phones, laptops whereby they can get answers within a blink of an eye. Whereas, in the past because of lack of any internet connections and access to electronic gadgets young people tended to depend on their parents to resolve any problem. Take my experience as compelling evidence to explain this phenomenon. When I was in school if I had any questions regarding my choices, which class should I take even school homework, I used to ask my parents. Nevertheless, my niece is in the fifth grade. She does her homework all by herself. Not only this but also she decides which extracurricular activities she needs to take in her school. Once when I asked her how she manages all this alone, she told me she asks her friend google for any information. If she would not have access to the internet, she would not have learned how to find solutions by herself. Perhaps, she may take advice from her parents. This example clearly illustrates the effectiveness of advanced technology on young people.

Furthermore, improved education plays a vital role in children's development which deter the need for parent's guidance in young people's life. To explain broadly, today, offsprings get international education which allows their better growth. Actually, young people are smarter than their parent's generation since they get a sea of knowledge from their school only. That is why youngsters learned problem-solving skills and they do not need their parents. Whereas, in the past, people could get basic education in their community school. There was no high education in their time so thoughts of their grandparents passed to them. A typical example in my case when I started elementary school, we did not have any extracurricular activities and behavior, management classes. We had just academic classes. On the other hand, my niece has taken all those classes. Indeed, she is an all-rounder. This ability make her self capable of making her own decisions. If she had not taken international education, she would have not developed these important skills. This example vividly explains the impact of advanced education on young adults

In conclusion, in the modern era, young people are capable to make their own decision by themselves without parent's guidance. This is because of the advanced technology and education which help them to outgrow their box. Therefore I recommend considering these reasons before making any choices.