Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Traveling is one of the most crucial parts of people's live. It is thought by some people that people should travel and learn more about their country, rather than travel abroad. However, I believe that people would benefit more if they explore foreign countries. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore as follows.

To begin with, people would be able to benefit more from traveling abroad because they would gain more knowledge by learning about different cultures. They will become open minded and understand their own culture even better. My own experience as a student, is a compelling example of this. Two decades ago, I enrolled myself to students exchanged program. I studied in Spain for one year. The reason why I was interested to do that, was because I wanted to know more about other countries history and culture. After I traveled around the Spain and enjoyed every moment, I really valued my culture even more. In addition, staying in Spain for a year, sparked my curiosity to learn more about things that I did not know about my country. Therefore, I was able to broaden my knowledge and understand better.

Secondly, people who travel to foreign countries could benefit by checking and finding out different opportunities such as types of jobs that they would like to do, or expanding their social network. For instance, my brother was passionate to travel around the world. Actually, he had visited almost every developed country. He had a wide social circle, wich helped him to find connections and fulfill his goals. Furthermore, he was able to built his own business overseas, just because of these opportunities that he got from having a wide social network. If he would not have traveled abroad, he would never had been able to expand his social circle and fulfill his goals. Overall, It is clear that people would benefit more if they travel to foreign countries.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that if people travel abroad they would benefit even more than they would travel to their own country. This is because they could broaden their knowledge and because they could be able to expand their social network , which would help them to fulfill their plans.