Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People benefit more from traveling in their own country than from traveling to foreign countries.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

By traveling, people not only can acquire a great deal of experience but also can spend joyful moments. While some people enjoy domestic travelling, some would like to travel abroad. As far as I am concerned, travelling abroad is more beneficial to people than domestic travelling because of several reasons, three of which are learning another language, being familiar with other cultures, and gaining various, cheerful experiences being of great importance.

To begin with, today, it is a great advantage to learn another language. People travelling frequently abroad are more likely to learn the host country’s language because they have to communicate with foreign people. In contrast, people who travel only through their own country usually do not have the opportunity to speak another language. Rather, they remain monolingual, being beneficial neither to their knowledge nor to their future. Although people travelling across their home countries can save much more money, they can take more other valuable advantages from learning a foreign language that arises from travelling abroad. For example, my friend wanted to travel abroad last year, and she had to learn English to speak with foreign people. She hired a private English tutor, and, now, she is able to speak English well. Also, when she returned, she gained the opportunity to work in a large international company needing a person with the ability to speak English thanks to travelling abroad.

Secondly, owing to travelling abroad, people can be familiar with foreign countries’ cultures as a result of both making friends with foreign people and visiting quite a few museums and other spectacular places, as well. With this in mind, they can learn from their cultures and their people, which leads to broadening their horizons and changing their attitudes positively toward other cultures. For instance, my brother did not have a positive attitude to foreign customs or rituals, yet, with travelling to Paris, he was interested in its exciting places and making friends with its inhabitants so much so that he has several French friends with whom he is in contact.

Last but not least, people can gain many various as well as exciting experiences due to travelling abroad. For example, there are a lot of exotic foods people can taste, which are different from their own countries. Additionally, there are a great number of tourist attractions and beautiful scenes people can enjoy when they travel abroad, making different, joyful experiences.

To sum up, when it comes to travel, I would prefer to travel abroad because of experiencing many cheerful, various things which cannot gain from domestic travelling. I hope that the cost of living in my country will be so low that our people can experience travelling abroad and benefit from its great = significant advantages.