Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People learn things better from those at their own level - such as fellow students or co-workers - than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People have different views about how much distance should be between a learner and his mentor's age in order to optimize the learning process. While some argue that it would be better for learners to be forced to learn from higher level powers-that-be, I believe that students learn better from their own peers because they establish better emotional relationships, they receive more specific information in a more pleasing format.

One of the primary causes is that the more one is interested in a subject, the better he will learn that subject. The reason for that is students will listen precisely what the teacher states, and they spend more time reviewing and studying about the matter, thereby learning it deeper and better. One of the ways of students taking interest in what they are taught is to selecting an appealing person to teach them. Since students make deeper relationships with people of their own circumstances, they will love them more, and thus pay more attention to what he asserts, allocating more time while they are at home for reviewing and studying that subject, thereby ameliorating their academic situation. Therefore, constructing close relationships with a peer tutor, learners can perform better.

Another aspect to consider is that the same level teachers can be more specific in what they learn. For instance, when I was in college in the Buffalo University in New York, I had a lot of professors who were over fifty years olds. Some times what they emphasize the students to learn seemed so irrelevant and boring to me. They had not any applications in the real civil engineering business. But later, a new young faculty member added to our college, and fortunately, I had a course with him in the very first semester. Surprisingly, he was meticulous to address only up-to-date, applied problems, and it was so pleasant to me. Thus, instructors of the same level can be more beneficial because they are able to pinpoint the most interesting applied aspect of the real business.

Additionally, a tutor of the same level is more skilled in using better ways to transmit the gist to the learner. For example, a young professor who uses the new technologies of presentation and showing scientific experiments in classes, undoubtedly would be more successful in transferring the ideas to its students.

In conclusion, although some may posit that people learn better from those who are in higher levels than them, I, personally, believe that learning from same level people is more effective because of the good human relationships between the two, and the ability of such teachers to focus on the most beneficial subjects in a more appealing appearance.