Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People spend too much money on their pets, even though there can be other good ways to spend money.

Nowadays, pets have become the top concern of modern citizens. Recently, there is a heated debate on the money people spend on their pets, some claim that people should spend a lot of money on their pets. As for me, I believe that people spend too much money on their pets, but there are better ways to use this money, especially considering people's health and personal development.

Firstly,  individuals spend money on their pets beyond the usual limit, which makes them ignore themselves. To be specific, they give their pets everything including expensive food, toys, medical insurance, and so on, but for themselves, they eat junk food and do not do on-time examinations. My friend Lucy’s experience is a compelling illustration of this, she has a cute dog, and she buys her dog beautiful cloth every month. Once she brought her dog out, it was a rainy day, so the mug made her dog's cloth dirty. She threw the cloth which cost her 100 dollars away and brought some new dresses immediately. Lucy wastes so much money on her pets, that the fancy clothes run out of her allowance, so she can only eat fast food every day. However, the unhealthy diet makes her stomach ache all the time, but she still does not have enough money to see a doctor; however, Lucy could have used the money to eat well and live a healthier life, if she does not spend too much money on her pets. Thus, I am convinced that people spend too much on their pets.

Furthermore, people should uplift themselves rather than squander money on pets. To be exact, wasting money on pets is pointless because people cannot obtain any substantial benefits from them. By contrast, money should be invested in activities that are conducive to personal fulfillment. For instance, some people take classes about communication, time management, and emergency reaction ability, which get their money's worth. With these skills they can handle assignments, deal with emergencies, and have a good relationship with their boss, which allows them to impress the managers and easily get promoted and earn more money; on the other hand, if people spend too much money on their pets, it is true that pets will provide us momentary solace, but the stress and worries from life and work will never disappear because of this. We could spend on pets appropriately, but it is more essential to put them in more important places. In a word, I think people spend too much money on their pets, nevertheless, they can use them in a better way.

In conclusion, from what has been discussed, I still maintain that people spend too much money on their pets, however, they should use the money on other better things.