Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: people today spend too much time on personal enjoyment - doing things they like to do - rather than doing things they should do.

Although the way people spend their leisure time is more a subjective matter than universal, some believe that people have tendency toward activities that are enjoyable rather than essential. I personally subscribe to the view that people spend more time on jobs they should spend. I cling to this standpoint for two main reasons, which I will elucidate in the following essay.

To begin with, nowadays people spend more time working hard in their own professional field than they did in the past. To be more specific, there has been a growing trend toward spotting the individual’s abilities in recent years. Also, according to the researchers the more people are interested in their jobs, the more time they spend on their work. Hence, today, people insist on working hark more than any time, and I think the increasing growth of advancement in technology proves this fact.

Second, most of entertainments facilities we enjoy today improve other aspects of our lives, which means even the way we spend our leisure time brings about plenty of positive consequences to our lives. To put this in a more vivid picture, it has been about 5 years that I am used to running around the park nearby our home every night. As all we know, physical activities have remarkable influence in both physical and mental health status. Hence, although I enjoy running, this is the kind of job that I should do to boost the quality of my life.

To put all in a nutshell, I firmly believe that people spend more time on tasks they should do. I believe so because people are just more aware of their abilities, so spend more time on their works, and also because even enjoyable tasks are the way that people benefit greatly from them.