Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays people are very well aware of how to spend their time effectively. It is thought by some people that people should focus on doing things that they should do by not wasting their time. However, I strongly believe that people should be flexible and try everything regardless if they like or not. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, adults should be able to step out of their comfort zone because that would help them to gain skills that sometimes are very useful in life. People who tend to explore new things, that might give them an opportunity to expand their experience in things which could lead to new innovation or spark their curiosity and creativity. For example, many of the new enterprises that are created today are the result of new or incidental ideas. Although many people try to be as comfortable as possible, they should endeavor new things in order to succeed. Overall, I believe that taking risks and putting effort on completely new things would help people to broaden their horizon.

Secondly, People who stay always in their bubble, would not be able to enhance their interpersonal skills. Adults need to improve themselves to learn different kinds of things, so that they can become more interested in meeting people by expanding their social network and experiencing challenges. For instance, my example as an adult who likes learning new things, even though they are very challenging, is a compelling example of this. A decade ago, when I came to America it was very hard to find a job in the pharmacy field. I applied everywhere but it did not work out. I decided to try something completely new from my profession. I worked as a beauty advisor at a beauty shop. At that job I learned new skills and met with different open minded people who helped me later on to find a job as a pharmacist. That is why I think that trying to experience new things may help people to overcome challenges sometimes just by surrounding themselves and by expanding their social circle with minded people.

To sum up, people should try to do things that they do not like doing. That is because they could learn from those experiences and because they could overcome their challenges just by meeting new people who could help them.