Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The reading that students do on their own is as important as (or even more important than) the reading assigned by their teachers.

What is supposed to foster one's overall qualities? One answer lies in reading ability and skills. Since education is still a hotly-discussed topic among the public, some people advocate that the books recommended by teachers are of significant importance, while others hold a different viewpoint that we should empower children to read the books they like. As far as I am concerned, these two types of books are important equally, and we should attach the same importance to both of them.

On the one hand, if the children are enabled to read the books they choose, they are granted the chance to assimilate the knowledge more efficiently. As a renowned saying goes, interest is the best teacher. If children possess the right to read the book on their own, they can be encouraged by their interest to do some in-depth research in their favorite field and be motivated to spend more time honing their reading skills. Besides, in this way, parents and teachers can sidestep some common pitfalls of doctrinarism and spoon-feeding education. For example, when I was in primary school, with the popularity of the Harry Potter series, I started reading them in my spare time. I was obsessed with the fantastic plots and impressive episodes. I was totally indulged in the wonderland created by J.K. Rowling. Besides, since the translation versions were not available when the new book was released, I started learning English by myself and read the original English version. Owing to my persistence and passion, my English improved significantly, and reading English was no longer an enormously demanding task for me. Finally, I even gained higher grades and performed better in my final exam than before.

On the other hand, teachers have more teaching experience. They are capable of selecting books that deliver more benefits to students’ development and some teachers can educate students according to their diversified aptitudes. As we all know, most teachers are experts in education, and they have taken some professional courses related to children's mental development and cognitive ability. They have a more comprehensive understanding of reading and can guarantee the quality of the books that they choose. Sometimes they can readily find the crux of the problem that the students face when reading a book and give some tailor-made plans to improve their competence. Just take my friend, Lucy, as a prime example. When Lucy entered primary school, she was not good at reading, and always got relatively low grades in the main subject, Chinese. At first, Lucy was worried about her grades. Our Chinese teacher provided some help to her. She enthusiastically listed some books that are suitable for us to read and gave Lucy some special tips to help her read. Lucy gained large progress with our teacher's instructions and has been passionate about literature since that time.

In a nutshell, the books chosen by the children themselves are as momentous as the ones assigned by teachers. Since every single day on campus ought to be made full use of, both types of books should be treasured by children, and these books definitely will constitute a steppingstone for their development.