The reading students do on their own is as important as, or even more important than the reading assigned by their teachers

Although reading is important to general learning, literacy development, and success in everyday life, there are additional benefits. Research has shown that regular reading helps develop students’ cognitive abilities. Students who read proficiently have an easier time absorbing and processing new information, which can improve learning across the curriculum.

Reading also fosters imagination, creativity and critical thought — engrossing narratives draw readers into complex and self-generated imagistic worlds. Developing strong reading skills and overall communication literacy can build self-confidence and sharpen social skills, leading to improved collaboration.

Well-designed reading assignments can support these lateral benefits by developing reading stamina and consistency with scaffolding difficulty levels and critical thinking prompts. Moreover, holding students accountable for their education beyond the classroom enriches student initiative and engagement. School and state achievement standards and content requirements can also strain the available time in the school day, making studying at home essential.