Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

A person gets influenced by someone based on how their relationship is with the other person influencing them. I would like to illustrate this with an example of my own, I am more likely to get influenced by my sister who is 6 years older to me, than my other sister who is the same age as me. It is because she is older than me so I gave higher regard to her opinions. I think we all, including students, give more weight and are more likely to get influenced by those who are a higher authority to us in our relationship with them. Thus,I definitely agree with the statement that students get more influenced by teachers than friends. I agree with it for the following two reasons which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, I think students are more likely to be influenced by teachers than their friends because students take the opinions of their teachers in high regard. Students think that their teachers have mentored many students and have more experience in life. They take them as their role models unlike their friends so whatever they say about them or suggest to them is definitely true. Thus, they are more likely to be influenced by their teachers. For example, A student is planning to take up a job after his graduation. He is so sure about doing a job. But, when he talked to his teacher about it, he changed his plans. His teacher suggested to him that he might not be ready to enter the corporate world and instead, he should apply to a doctorate program because he is the right fit for it. The student got convinced easily by his teacher and changed the plans he was sure to do. Had a friend suggested the same, he would not have considered his suggestion because he thinks that his friend does not know much about this world better than his teacher.

Furthermore, students think that teachers are a higher authority to them whereas they are at the same level as their friends so when someone of a higher authority says them something about them or suggests them something, there are more chances that they might take their teachers’ opinions seriously. Also, students are well taught by their parents about the dangers of peer pressure. So, students are always cautious while listening to the opinions of their peers. Thus, they do not believe or get influenced by their friends’ easily as they do with their teachers.

To sum up, I think students get more persuaded by those who are at a higher level to them and have more experience in life than others.