Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Successful people try new things and take risks rather than only do what they know how to do well.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many quotes encourage a person to try new things, I like this particular quote by Albert Einstein, " A person who never made a mistake never tried anything new". Some people work what they are good at, others try new things and take risks to be successful. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that if someone wants to be successful, he needs to try new things and take risks.

To begin with, a person should be more adaptable in this rapidly evolving world. With the growing tendency of technology, a person has to learn numerous sets of skills to be more competitive and successful in this technological era. For instance, right now the technology is pacing forward, everyone should be skill full in computer programming, especially in coding. I was listening to the lecture of Steve Jobs that in the near future everyone should learn to code. He emphasized on learning this skill, even the one who works in the medical field. They also should know some basic programming. If they keep practicing their old ways of doing things then it might be possible that they will be jobless and not able to compete with the one who keeps evolving and learning new skills.

The second important thing in mind is that success does not come to those who are not willing to bear the failures and disappointments. Besides this, he is willing to take risks to achieve his goals. Moreover, a person can learn new skills and open doors for many new opportunities. From the example of many successful people, their positive attitudes, adamant nature, and perseverance led them to the path of success. One of the famous entrepreneurs Jack Ma, when he was looking for a job he was rejected by many companies. But he tries different things just to be a successful businessman. He has a goal in his mind so he started his business with his friends and opened the e-market in his small apartment. He took a risk and invested all of his money. This process is very daunting, he fails many times, one of his interviews he says, “I learned from my mistake and I learned from the mistake of others. If I don't make mistakes I am not able to build Alibaba.” Hence, one can say, a person should be persistent, brave enough to take risks, and not afraid of failing.

The long and short of this topic is success happens to those who try new things and are willing to change and take risks. As well as, a positive attitude and eager to learn can also be beneficial.