Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, respecting to other people and appreciating their efforts have been a sign of good morality and upbringing. In this regard, appreciating teachers as men or women who have play a pivotal role in nurturing children and teenagers is of paramount importance. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past rather than nowadays. Some people possess the conviction that in today’s world people respect and praise teachers as well as the past, whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that nowadays people overlook attempts of teachers and do not care them. I personally contend that people do not behave as respectful as they ought to with teachers. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that with the advancement of technology, particularly internet, people think that they can learn and find every thing by surfing internet. Especially, due to the occurence of a pandemic desease (Covid 19) which leads to significant use of internet as a replacement for schools, the notion that we do not need teachers any more is boosted. Some people think that children only learn typical lessons such as mathematics and physics at school, so internet could be a decent replace for them. But I think they are wrong. To exemplify, take my personal experience as a real case. When my little brother went to school, in addition to learning lessons which were in schools curiculumn, every day his teacher speaked about different matters such as planning for future, helping people when they need, how to behave with older people and so on. These free descussions had considerable effect on behaviour of my brother. After start of pandemic and holding classes virtually, we see some undesirable behaviors from him. Therefore, we realized the effect of his teacher on his behavior and thinking. Now we appreciate his teacher more than before.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that nowadays people are less respectful to all people with defferent occupation. For instance, people do not appreciate engineers for their effort to make world a more convenient place to live or they do not appreciate police forces for their attempt to make cities secure. Thus, it is not interesting that they do not praise teachers. The noteworthy stattistics, revealed by a recent social research conducted in our country show that in 21th century people think they are indebted to others like their parents and teachers less than people of 20th century. This thaught results in selfish behavior of people and dye myriad of excellent behaviors such as appreciating others for their role in our lives.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that the everchanging world at which we are living todays, renders people to change. One of undesirable and unwanted changes is not appreciating others.