Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Children’s advertisements have become common discussion topic about media. Some people believe that television commercials for children should be banned, other disagree with that. In my opinion, these advertisements are not dangerous for them.

First of all, these children are too young to be harmed by any kind of advertisements. Evidence shows that children between age two and five are not able to understand what is happening around them without help of their parents. And because of that, there is no reason to prohibit commercials. For example: When me and my 4 year old brother were watching advertisements, I have noticed that my brother did not understand them, so he started to ask me questions to explain him what these commercials means.

Secondly, it supposed to be parents’ decision if they are allowing his child to watch advertisements, or not. Parents are the first and only people who should be able to decide how they want to rise their children. Therefore, it is their responsibility to protect children and select good advertisements from bad one. For instance, When I was young, my mother allowed me to watch advertisements but she also warned me that their purpose is to force You to purchase products. Because of this, I was prepared to select what is good for me and what is not.

Last reason is that government cannot censore any kind of media and force people what is good or wrong. We are living in democratic country, where everyone has right to decide what they want to do with life. Consequently, there is no option to prohibit them. I remember when government tried to block freedom of speech in television. People were so angry, that they came out on the streets and they were fighting for theirs rights.

In conclusion, Nobody have rights to prohibit basic human rights like freedom to speech, and advertisements are examples of people’s viewpoints. Therefore advertisement’s ban is not good idea.