Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Today's media (TV, newspapers, and magazines, for example) offer a lot of information on many topics, but people do not use this information to really learn something thoroughly and in depth. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Some people use the information provided by the today's media to learn new things related to different topics. They cite the easy accessibility and live coverage features of media to support their point. However, I strongly disagree with these people and believe that still majority of people did not use media to learn about new things for the following three reasons.

To begin with, nowdays, the information conveyed by the media is not reliable. Especially, The companies that telecast news are often owned by the people who are in power and they easily manifest the truth to project them as good infront of the masses. For instance, in my state, the pollutants that are let out by a factory in the nearby water body affected the people who used the water for their daily living. Since, the person who is in power in that area owned the factory, he did not want the public to know about the mistake his factory does. So, he changed the truth and telecasted in his channel that poor food habits of the people nearby that place is the reason for their bad health. Finally, truth is revealed by the a social activist who came to that place to know more about it. Hence, it is worthwile not to believe completely the information provided in news channels

Secondly, media provides incomplete information. Most of the media today wants to make money, so they reduce the information and increase adevertizements in their content. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. About 10 years, the newspapers I read had a relatively few advetisements and convered mostly the recent news. However, today's newspapers are flooded with ads that people have to search the news in them which is often distorted. The content provided lacks analysis and evidence to support the points presented. Accordingly, the information presented may not be convincing.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that most of the people did not learn from the information provided by media. This is because, often the truth is hidden and the information provided by them lacks clarity.