Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? As long as they meet deadlines and attend meetings, company employees should be allowed to work any hours they choose. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people agree that employees of a company play a major role in a company's success. In my opinion, I believe that it is more advantageous for a company to make its workers follow a common schedule rather than allowing them to work on the time they wish. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore further in the following essay.

To begin with, if a company allow its workers to choose their working hours, then they may not be productive. Though completing the works on time and attending meetings signal that they are focused towards their work, it does not ensure that they do their works regularly. Moreover, because of employees that finish their works close to deadlines, often the profit that a company gets decreases. My own experience is a compelling example of this. About 10 years ago, I worked in a firm that allowed its employees to choose their working as long as they meet their deadlines. Within few months, after this scheme is implemented the employees often worked seriously only close to deadlines and sometimes, the company could not handover the completed projects to its clients on time. As a result, their profits reduced considerably and they started losing their revenues. Accordingly, I feel that it is worthwhile for a company to make its workers follow a common work period to avoid problems.

Secondly, working in group projects requires all of its members to work at at a same time. Further, the discussions that happen during that time are often very efficient only if every member of the group participates. For instance, my friend worked in a product based company that often takes projects from clients that involve group work. To encourage its employees, that company offered them a choice to choose their working hours. This unfortunately, turned out to be a failure. The employees cannot find a common time themselves to work on in the projects assigned by the company. Moroever, some started to become neglegent that they never participated in the discussions. Consequently, the discussions become inefficient and the results of the projetcs looked very different from the clients' requirements. Thus, I believe that group works will be inefficient if company allow workers to choose their working hours.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is better for a company to not allow its employees to chose their working hours. This is because, it will reduce the productivity of the employess and make the group discussion involved in the company's projects to be inefficient.