Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Many university and colleges have been pouring money into providing better classes and librarian so as to attract more student with potentials to come to universities and colleges to participate in academic research. While sport and social activities are largely ignored. Definitely, some people if asked would agree with the statement sport and social activity are equally important as class and librarian and should receive equal financial support, while others would disagree. I am a strong advocate of this approach, in my view participating in extracurricular would be far more beneficial for two important reasons.

The first and most exquisite point to be mentioned is that doing sport helps people feel refreshed. Without any doubt, doing sport improves people’s health both mentally and physically. Since we should talk about sports in the university context, I would talk about the positive influence of sport on students. Studying could be overwhelming especially for a long time. Thus, learners need to be fresh again and feel revived. Many of scientific research indicated exercising declined stress and pressure of daily life. For example, when I am undergoing a nerve-racking period of my life, up to ears by revising and reviewing for the finals, playing sport making me forget all the hardship and continue studying. In the end, I pass my exam whit best mark.

Another reason is that social activities are beneficial to students in terms of promoting the development of their social skills such as communication skills, arrangement skills, interpersonal skills and spirit of teamwork. Many of today’s graduates don’t have the basic skill they need to succeed in the workplace. As an illustration, I was an introverted person when I was a university student back in 2010. I always had trouble presenting my seminars. My presentation did not seem appealing to other and my scores never improved. It was until I decided to take part in an English club and it worked like a charm. As everyone in class obliged to narrate a story in English every week, I tried to do my best to enhance my narration and make my stories look attractive in to elicit my audience’s attention. Gradually, I felt I was progressing in communication with others and conveying my thoughts. Furthermore, my self-confidence also improved remarkably to some extent that I was selected as a representative of my father’s company. As you can see, participating in social activities is a contributing factor in developing student’s social capabilities.

In conclusion, at university and college, should be had facilities in order to promote their health physically and mentally while studying their lessons. Moreover, as human beings, they need to be able to eliminate their possible weaknesses in social areas thereby taking advantage of upcoming situations in their future life.